Marion Maerke Scholarship

Placeholder Picture

The purpose of this scholarship is to promote and encourage quilters to further their knowledge of techniques, skills of
craftsmanship and development of ideas. It is the highest honor awarded by GSQA and indicates active participation in
quilting, as well as stimulating and encouraging others in all things relating to quilts and quilt making. This award also
reflects volunteer services to the quilt chapter, quilting organizations and projects that benefit the community. The
recipient will receive a full scholarship (room, board and classes during seminar) for the upcoming seminar. The scholarship
is awarded every year with the winner in the "even" year using it at the following year's seminar. Therefore, there will be
two Marion Maerke Scholarship Winners at every Seminar since it is only held in odd numbered years.

Past Scholarship Recipients
1994 Peggy Peacock
1995 Nancy Hinds
1996 - Linda Wiggins
1997 Sarah Kemp
1998 Charlotte Jackson
1999 Yvette Magee
2000 Vera Honea
2001 Noreen Mazzarappi
2002 Paula McKenna
2003 Meredith Campanella
2004 Joan LeBlanc
2005 Kathy Ayme
2006 Dottie Burkhardt
2007 Mary Gillette
2008 Barbara Skinner
2009 Joyce Reed
2010 Georgia Farnet
2011 Jane Ramee
2012 Ilaine Hartman
2013 Elizabeth Linebrink
2014 Janet Bailey
2015 Donna Downing
2016 Laura Robertson
2017 Daniel LeBlanc
2018 Cindy Baucum

Marion Maerke Scholarship Awards

This year’s Marion Maerke Scholarship is awarded to Cindy Baucum of Jacob’s Ladder Quilt Guild. This is the highest honor presented by GSQA and Cindy will receive a paid scholarship to the 2019 Seminar. This includes tuition, registration fee, first choice of all classes and a room & board stipend.

Congratulations also to our alternate winner, Sherry Herringshaw of Cajun Country Quilters. Sherry will receive first choice of 2019 Seminar classes, paid registration fee and tuition for one class.

Bravo to all who were nominated by their guild for this highly esteemed award.

· Elena Acosta, River City Quilt Guild

· Vernon Chee, Stitchy Fingers Quilt Guild

· Rose Corder, Camellia Quilters Quilt Guild

· And Bunny Thibodaux, Cane Cutters Quilt Guild

Thank you to Carolyn Carte, Kay Guillot and Judith Wheeler, participated on the committee.
Submitted by Candy Bergeron, Marion Maerke Scholarship Chair

Guilds may select and nominate one of their members for this scholarship award by submitting a nominating
letter signed by two guild officers. A letter may be written and signed by two GSQA members if the nominee is a member-at-large.
Selecting a Candidate: The quilter must be an active member of good standing in GSQA for a minimum of two years prior
to nomination. Current GSQA Board members and current members of the Marion Maerke Scholarship Committee may
not be nominated or submit nominations. Nominee should reflect many of the characteristics mentioned in the above
paragraph. Nominee must be aware of and accept the nomination, agree to mail his/her information to the Marion
Maerke Scholarship Committee prior to the deadline date.
Nominating Letter including the guild's choice of candidate should include:
Name and address of the guild
Name and address of the nominee
Number of years nominee has been active in the guild
Description of participation of the nominee in guild activities, including offices held and other leadership roles
Why the member was selected as nominee
How you think this nominee will share the experiences, skills and knowledge gained by this scholarship with other
members in your guild and with quilters who are not members of your guild.
Deadline: Both parts I and II of the form (no email, please) should be mailed so that it is received by the Scholarship Committee. Mail to:
Marion Maerke Scholarship Committee
Candy Bergeron
14009 Mill Settlement Trace
Port Vincent, LA 70726

Nomination Form