Marion Maerke Scholarship

The purpose of this scholarship is to promote and encourage quilters to further their knowledge of techniques, skills of craftsmanship and development of ideas. It is the highest honor awarded by GSQA and indicates active participation in quilting, as well as stimulating and encouraging others in all things relating to quilts and quilt making. This award also reflects volunteer services to the quilt chapter, quilting organizations and projects that benefit the community. The recipient will receive a full scholarship (room, board and classes during seminar) for the upcoming seminar. The scholarship is awarded every year with the winner in the "even" year using it at the following year's seminar. Therefore, there will be two Marion Maerke Scholarship Winners at every Seminar since it is only held in odd numbered years.

Congratulations to Mae Foster, the 2021 Marion Maerke Scholarship Recipient!

Past Scholarship Recipients:

1994  Peggy Peacock

1995  Nancy Hinds

1996  Linda Wiggins

1997  Sarah Kemp

1998  Charlotte Jackson

1999  Yvette Magee

2000  Vera Honea

2001  Noreen Mazzarappi

2002  Paula McKenna

2003  Meredith Campanella

2004  Joan LeBlanc

2005  Kathy Ayme

2006  Dottie Burkhardt

2007  Mary Gillette

2008  Barbara Skinner

2009  Joyce Reed

2010  Georgia Farnet

2011  Jane Ramee

2012  Ilaine Hartman

2013  Elizabeth Linebrink

2014  Janet Bailey

2015  Donna Downing

2016  Laura Robertson

2017  Daniel LeBlanc

2018  Cindy Baucum

2019  Loretta Robert Webre

2020  Renee Hoeprich

2021  Mae Foster



Guilds may select and nominate one of their members for this scholarship award by submitting a nominating letter signed by two guild officers. A letter may be written and signed by two GSQA members if the nominee is a member-at-large.
Selecting a Candidate: The quilter must be an active member of good standing in GSQA for a minimum of two years prior to nomination. Current GSQA Board members and current members of the Marion Maerke Scholarship Committee may not be nominated or submit nominations. Previous winners of the award are not eligible, but alternate winners are still eligible to be nominated. Nominee should reflect many of the characteristics mentioned in the above paragraph. Nominee must be aware of and accept the nomination, agree to mail his/her information to the Marion Maerke Scholarship Committee prior to the deadline date.

Nominating Letter including the guild's choice of candidate should include:

  • Name and address of the guild

  • Name and address of the nominee

  • Number of years nominee has been active in the guild

  • Description of participation of the nominee in guild activities, including offices held and other leadership roles

  • Why the member was selected as nominee

  • How you think this nominee will share the experiences, skills and knowledge gained by this scholarship with other

  • Members in your guild and with quilters who are not members of your guild.


Both parts I and II of the form (no email, please) should be mailed so that it is received by the Scholarship Committee by July 31, 2021.

Mail to:

Marion Maerke Scholarship Committee
Candy Bergeron
14009 Mill Settlement Trace
Port Vincent, LA 70726

Nomination Form